Ekiti Assembly lifts Suspension on five members

Ekiti State House of Assembly
Ekiti State House of Assembly

Ekiti State House of Assembly yesterday lifted the suspension on five of its members in the assembly including the former speaker, Mr. Kola Oluwawole.

The lawmakers were reinstated during at the plenary presided over by the Speaker, Mr Adeniran Alagbada, on Wednesday.

Those who got their pardon were former Deputy Speaker, Mr Segun Adewumi, Mr Abiola Jeje, (Ido/Osi 11), Mr Adesina Animasaun,(Ekiti West 11) and Mr Dare Pelemo (Ekiti East 11).

It would be recalled that the affected lawmakers were among those suspended last year October on the allegation of passage of the N10 billion Supplementary Budget of former Governor Ayodele Fayose.

The reinstatement followed the adoption of the report of the Appeal Panel Committee chaired by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1).

The motion for the adoption of the report of the committee was moved by Aribisogan and seconded by Mr Sunday Akinniyi (Ikere 11).

Briefing newsmen after plenary, Hon. Aribisogan, who is also the leader of the house, said the lawmakers re-absorbed the affected members because they appealed and showed remorse of their actions.

“The All Progressives Congress (APC) members in the spirit of love have made it possible for the successful plenary sitting today for the reinstatement of the suspended House members.

“Though, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) felt that the suspended members, who are mainly from their party, should not be reinstated because of the internal crisis, but APC members opposed that.

“The affected PDP members who had earlier written letters of apology are hereby re-absorbed,” Aribisogan said.

Other legislative activities business of the day was the unanimous adoption of the Harmonised South West Houses of Assembly Rules and Standing Orders.

With this development, there is now uniform Rules and Standing Orders for all the southwestern states of Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti.

Share this story

Post your comments below