Don’t panic over Fayemi’s  Inauguration –  Police tell  Ekiti citizens

Kayode Fayemi
Kayode Fayemi
The police in Ekiti State have advised the citizens of the state to be vigilant and report any suspicious  individuals to the cops for prompt action, as the Governor-Elect of Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, would be inaugurated as the next Governor of the state next Tuesday, October 16.
The State Police Commissioner, Ekiti Command, Mr. Bello Ahmed, promised that adequate security would be provided to ward off criminals  before and during the ceremony.
The tenure of Governor Ayodele Fayose would expire on October 16, 2018, having been sworn-in on October 16, 2014 after winning his re-election  in the poll conducted on June 21, same year. In a statement signed by the Command’s Police Public Relations Officer, Mr.  Caleb Ikechukwu in Ado Ekiti, on Tuesday, urged the people to be security  conscious and refrain from acts that could trigger violence during the ceremony.
Ahmed assured that the transition would be hitch-free and seamless and that the  security would be on the top of the game to ensure that criminals  are checkmated to make the inauguration a success.
He said: “The police force is hereby imploring members of the public to cooperate with security personnel deployed for the special ceremony and  we enjoin all Ekiti citizens be security conscious, vigilant and report untoward happening in their locality to the nearest police station.
“We urge Ekiti citizens to be law abiding and also exhibit hospitality by accommodating their visitors who will be coming into the state for the  inauguration.
“We use this opportunity to appreciate the good people of Ekiti State for  their peaceful conduct throughout the transition period”, the CP added.
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), had on July 14, 2018  declared Fayemi the winner of the governorship election conducted in the state.
Fayemi polled a total of 197, 459 to defeat his closest rival and candidate  of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), Prof Kolapo Olusola, who  garnered 178, 223 votes.
Share this story