Teslim Folarin wins Oyo Central Senatorial seat

Teslim Folarin
Teslim Folarin

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Sen. Teslim Folarin, a former Senate Leader and APC Senatorial candidate for Oyo Central winner of Saturday’s National Assembly polls in Oyo state.

The Returning Officer for Oyo Central Senatorial District, Prof. Peter Falayi from the University of Ibadan, made the announcement in Ibadan on Monday morning.

Falayi declared Folarin winner, having polled 91,080 to defeat his closest rival, Chief Bisi Ilaka of PDP who polled 83,600.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the incumbent senator of the district on the platform of ADC, Monsurat Sunmonu polled 41, 657 while Temitope Olatoye of ADP polled 41,377.

The results which were announced amid heavy security was witnessed and signed by APC, PDP, ADC and ADP agents

Read This:  Senate to investigate unremitted N20 trillion Stamp Duty

NAN reports this was the third time the former Senate leader will be elected into the Red Chamber of the National Assembly.

Share this story

Post your comments below